Cascade Fathead on kick? Precautions?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

giuseppe_fl
alignin' 24-trk

Cascade Fathead on kick? Precautions?

Post by giuseppe_fl » Wed Jan 14, 2009 7:40 pm

I'm new to tracking live drums. Yet that is what I am trying to do.

The set-up is raw: one Rode NT2A, one RE15, a Cascade Fathead II and a some SM57s and 58s.

Lacking a D112 I've been micing the kick with the RE15.

Now I want to try the RE15 on the snare but I'm in no hurry to put a 57 on the kick. I thought I'd try the Cascade on the kick. But I've seen alot on the TOMB about the fragility of the ribbon.

Are any precautions necessary when using the Fathead on kick or other drums? Is Fathead on kick a bad idea, period? Any other suggestions -- besides room mic -- for incorporating a single ribbon mic into this kind of setup? Thanks.

mjau
speech impediment

Post by mjau » Wed Jan 14, 2009 7:46 pm

Probably not a bad idea to use a pop filter on it, and even with one, I'd be careful about putting it right in front of the hole in the resonant head.

Sweet avatar.

giuseppe_fl
alignin' 24-trk

Post by giuseppe_fl » Wed Jan 14, 2009 8:29 pm

mjau wrote:Probably not a bad idea to use a pop filter on it, and even with one, I'd be careful about putting it right in front of the hole in the resonant head.
Thanks. So, back a ways from the drum head? Or just off to the side, away from the hole?
mjau wrote:Sweet avatar.
Our avatars are very similar.

Mane1234
re-cappin' neve

Post by Mane1234 » Wed Jan 14, 2009 9:01 pm