Amp loudness at practive versus small club

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

neotoma
audio school

Amp loudness at practive versus small club

Post by neotoma » Tue Feb 03, 2009 8:57 am

I have been singing for a loud rock bands for about 8 years.

Something that has been irritating me during this time is dealing with loudness during practice versus live performances at clubs. Ever since I've been in bands the guitarist always overpowers me; at practice, in a live setting. I'm getting to the point where I've been very picky about the mix when we play live. As a singer, a common criticism is, "sounded good, but we could not hear you at all."

Now I know that it's common for guitarists to play very LOUD to achieve feeling and tone. I've spoken to many before about turning down for live shows and playing louder for practice - most think its just a nuisance because they have to readjust their EQ and volume as they lose their tone, and their pedals are now all out of whack.

Is there a way to have a nominal level that could be used for both medium practice spaces (ours is about 1000 sq ft.) and small clubs without losing so much feeling out of the amp? What is the best device or pedal that would give me volume presets that might just lower the volume by 3dB increments and not compromise tone quality?

Our current guitarist only wants to play at one volume simply because he think's its a nuisance to turn down - he's not an egomaniac or anything - just doesn't appreciate how it affects his eq and pedal volumes.

He recently bought at OR50 and 412 cabinet so I imagine he has some room to spare, considering he was replacing a twin reverb.

Any suggestions are much appreciated!!

- Brandon

www.myspace.com/dtvis
(there is recent video on here that shows how loud our guitarist is...pretty much the loudest thing in the mix.)
Do girls think David Bowie is hot?

Corey Y
re-cappin' neve