VOCALS AND GUITAR AMPS (reamping)

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

sonicdeath
ass engineer

VOCALS AND GUITAR AMPS (reamping)

Post by sonicdeath » Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:15 pm

I have been trying to run some previously recorded vocal tracks into a guitar amp. I have never done this before and I was hoping to get some help. I do NOT have a reamping device.

So far messing around I have pulled the output levels way down and went into an amp. It sounds like shit. Im guessing due to impedance.

Im at a loss. any help on doing this would be very cool of you.
Do i have to get a reamping device to do this?
what about mic placement?
What type of mics do you like to use when doing this? Ribbon, dynamic, Condenser?

thanks

Recycled_Brains
resurrected

Re: VOCALS AND GUITAR AMPS (reamping)

Post by Recycled_Brains » Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:36 am

sonicdeath wrote: Do i have to get a reamping device to do this?
Yes.
what about mic placement?
Personal preference.
What type of mics do you like to use when doing this? Ribbon, dynamic, Condenser?
Personal preference, but I usually use ribbons/dynamics, as that is what I would reach for 1st if I were recording guitars through the same amp.
Ryan Slowey
Albany, NY

http://maggotbrainny.bandcamp.com

ott0bot
dead but not forgotten

Post by ott0bot » Wed Feb 18, 2009 9:30 am

Recycled_Brains wrote:
sonicdeath wrote: Do i have to get a reamping device to do this?
Yes.