mixing outside the box

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

chad_strung
studio intern

mixing outside the box

Post by chad_strung » Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:18 pm

I run pro tools 6.7 with a mac mini and digi002, with Digimax LT. I'm wondering if i can mixing on an outboard console. I have a studiomaster 20x4x2 mixing console. I guess i would group tracks down to 8 different tracks to output everything through the 002, which gives me 8 outs.

My guess is i would send those 8 to the board, then send my stereo outs from the board into a CD recorder, or back into Protools, or something like that, ideally i would get a quarter inch tape machine to put the mixdowns on. Does this seem logical?

thanks!
chad_strung
www.facebook.com/thehighstrung
www.honesttogoodness.bandcamp.com
www.the-mythics.bandcamp.com
Motu 828mkii/MacBook Pro (mid-2012)/Pro Tools 10/11/UA Apollo Duo Firewire

analogcabin
buyin' gear

Post by analogcabin » Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:57 pm

It seems like a long way to go, and I'd argue that mixing in the box (correctly) is going to sound great.

The signal degradation from going out of your interface, into a mixer, through it's eq's, gain staging & such, then through more wire into a cd recorder, only to end up back in the computer at the end of it all seems silly to me.

Many will disagree, but hey.

dsw
tinnitus

Post by dsw » Wed Feb 25, 2009 2:22 pm

Sonically you'll get more benefit out of room treatment, better convertors and mic pres.
If everything else in your setup is first rate then I'd go after the outside summing thing.
If you can try it without spending much money, then by all means experiment.
Better clock and convertors would be where I'd go next if your mic locker is full and your pre's are nice.
You might look into the Black Lion mods for your 002.
"Analog smells like thrift stores. Digital smells like tiny hands from far away." - O-it-hz