BASS GETTING LOST IN MIX

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

sonicdeath
ass engineer

BASS GETTING LOST IN MIX

Post by sonicdeath » Tue Mar 03, 2009 9:15 pm

Ive been working on my mixing skills for about 6 years now. There is one problem that always gets me in trouble. The Bass Guitar. I Have always put it center in the mix with the kick, and did a little EQ work. But It ALWAYS GETS LOST IN THE MIX. The low end of the GTRS seem to bleed into the bass and the mids of the GTRS kills that nice round feeling of the upper end of the bass.

Can you give me some pointers on EQ, and how to cut a space for it in the mix. I love the drum sound and guitar sound I can get, But the bass just has no Balls to it.

Any help? Please.

MoreSpaceEcho
zen recordist

Post by MoreSpaceEcho » Tue Mar 03, 2009 10:00 pm

as i seem to be saying a lot recently: guitars are a pain in the ass. they cover up EVERYTHING, not just the bass. but we love 'em, so we invent all sorts of crazy eq and compression schemes for everything else, just to make them sort of stand up amidst the wall of stupidity...

try adding distortion to the bass, you can add a lot without it sounding distorted.
try some retarded eq, boost a ton of midrange or cut a bunch of low flubba.
reamp it in a big room with the mic 8 feet away, it worked for paul mccartney.
add a track of sansamp.
add a track of parallel compression with it squashed a lot or a little.
do all of these things at the same time.
don't do any of them and just turn it up 6db.
pan the guitars hard l and r.
cut low end on the guitars.
mute the guitars entirely...

darkhorseporter
ass engineer

Post by darkhorseporter » Tue Mar 03, 2009 10:13 pm