Mixing level confusion

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

chips
alignin' 24-trk

Mixing level confusion

Post by chips » Mon Mar 30, 2009 12:18 pm

Hi there,

I am still very new to recording but I am trying to learn as much as I can to improve my techniques.
I use cubase and mix in the box

I read that when tracking, my peaks should be hitting around -12dbfs.

I understand this, but does it also mean that when I am mixing ITB, each track should also be hitting no higher than -12dbfs ? Then I could use limiting and compression on the master bus to increase the volume. Or am i ok to have my faders up full when mixing ?

Thanks in advance for any help.
C

Al_Huero
suffering 'studio suck'

Post by Al_Huero » Mon Mar 30, 2009 1:08 pm

The -12 dBFS is mainly to optimize the performance of your converters on the way in; and to insure you don't have transients clipping at 0 dBFS. When mixing, just keep the mix buss level around -3 dBFS or less if you want to leave room for mastering.

MoreSpaceEcho
zen recordist

Post by MoreSpaceEcho » Mon Mar 30, 2009 1:51 pm

i would think that if you wanted your mix to peak below 0dbfs, then you couldn't really have any tracks peaking much above -12 in the first place, could you? whenever i get outside tracks to mix and everything is recorded right up to 0dbfs, the first thing i do is turn everything down 12db and even then i feel like i run out of headroom pretty quick.

if you just track stuff at reasonable levels (you can go even lower than -12, i have stuff peaking at -20 to -16 all the time) then it won't be an issue at all and you can just worry about making the mix sound good.

ovalroaster
audio school

Post by ovalroaster » Mon Mar 30, 2009 7:30 pm

warning: newbie question.