Pro Tools and My Freelancing Future

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Jeff White
ghost haunting audio students

Pro Tools and My Freelancing Future

Post by Jeff White » Fri Apr 03, 2009 12:50 pm

I am considering stepping up my freelance career, especially since I am out of work right now and have a nice mobile setup.

However, I am curious regarding Pro Tools LE. I have been considering getting a PT rig for some time. I've been using Digital Performer since 2003, and I have tapeop'd one project in Pro Tools. I would love to learn i since it is industry standard. However, the only LE option that I will consider is an 002r or 003r, and then send it off to Black Lion for modding.

Since both of these units are firewire, I am assuming that they are both compatible with Pro Tools 8, correct? I am concerned, though, about PT session compatibility (backwards/forwards), both software and hardware compatibility (002r support gets cut-off in six months or something, etc).

I could always record in Digital Performer and then make everything left-side zero-timeline compatible for import into PT. Hand it off. However, I'm starting to think that having my own BLA-modded Pro Tools LE rig is the way to go for freelance stuff. You know, record on client's drive then they take it with them I am done, or get a drive and easily open a PT session to mix, etc. And for more inputs I can simply ADAT lightpipe in my BLA 828mk2 and master/slave it as/to the better clock.

Looking for some simple answers, since I am a total newbie when it comes to PT. I don't want to put out the cash to purchase and mod something that is going to be obsolete in 6-12 months.

Thanks!

Jeff
I record, mix, and master in my Philly-based home studio, the Spacement. https://linktr.ee/ipressrecord

The Scum
moves faders with mind

Post by The Scum » Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:29 pm