cymbal bashers

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

permanent hearing damage
re-cappin' neve

cymbal bashers

Post by permanent hearing damage » Wed May 06, 2009 9:27 am

i frequently get these guys in the studio. drummers with huge cymbals - multiple 20", 22" and 24" cymbals all around. i realize this kinda comes with the territory with sludgy hardcore bands sometimes. i frequently tell the drummers to back off the cymbals - being a drummer myself, i can empathize with wanting to bash the hell out of them.

anyway, i normally make do, but i have a band coming in this weekend with not one but two such drummers.

they are a good band and i'm excited to work with them. but everytime i have seen them live, it's just a wash of cymbals.

any ideas? tape can only do so much, no?

i have some ribbon mics i can use for overheads, but they can only help so much and i usually use condensers on the toms. hell, i may not even use the overheads in that case.

aurelialuz
dead but not forgotten

Post by aurelialuz » Wed May 06, 2009 9:43 am

my housemate, whom i've recorded several times is a cymbal basher. he claims the only time he'd had this problem really solved was the second time he recorded with the mogis bros. and what they did was use ribbons for overheads. i find when i record him the best tact is to close mic everything and then throw a ribbon up (260 or 4038) as an overhead and back of of it in deference to the individual drum mics.
"While every effort has been made to ensure optimum sound quality, priority has been given to historic content and importance."

chris harris
speech impediment

Post by chris harris » Wed May 06, 2009 10:40 am