Logic Studio upgrade - is it worth it?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

garciajbj
audio school

Logic Studio upgrade - is it worth it?

Post by garciajbj » Mon Jun 29, 2009 1:41 pm

I'm currently running Logic 7 Academic on my MacBook Pro. Since I got Logic through my school program, I would have to pay full price for the upgrade to Logic Studio. I'm a budget musician who rarely plays gigs, and I've become quite comfortable maneuvering around Logic 7. Is there really any sonic difference that can justify me upgrading to Logic Studio? I mean, I don't really need the new instruments, or the new delay creator, so the only reason I would upgrade is if there is a noticeable difference in the sound of the two programs. Also, if there is a noticeable difference in the sound, would it be worth it to just buy Logic Express? Like I said, I don't need Main Stage, as I don't play shows, but could I get by with Express, or would it make more sense to just stay with Logic 7? Can someone help me with this decision?

Nick Sevilla
on a wing and a prayer

Re: Logic Studio upgrade - is it worth it?

Post by Nick Sevilla » Mon Jun 29, 2009 2:15 pm