ANY Fully Normalized Patchbays Out There??

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
User avatar
akg414
re-cappin' neve
Posts: 689
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 7:44 am
Location: Easton, PA

ANY Fully Normalized Patchbays Out There??

Post by akg414 » Fri Jul 31, 2009 5:35 pm

Are there any patchbays out there that are FULL NORMALIZED - that are of high quality, and hold the cables securely in place????

I sold my DBX PB48's because they did not have offer FULL normalization. I need my patchbays to connect vertical pairs from the rear and have that connection broken on when inserting a cable on either the top or bottom.

Currently I have 4 Behringer "Pro" patchbays. I love the options they have with the switches on top of each pair.

What I DON'T LIKE ABOUT THESE - is that the jacks do NOT do a good job at holding the cables in place. Often, the weight of (many) cables makes them pull out.

I need other choices!!
- Brad

junomat
re-cappin' neve
Posts: 652
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 2:17 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Post by junomat » Fri Jul 31, 2009 7:15 pm

At $100 a rack, this is a solid choice. I have 4 of them. Used them for almost 10 years with no problems.

Neutrik NYS-SPP-L
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/NYSPP/

User avatar
akg414
re-cappin' neve
Posts: 689
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 7:44 am
Location: Easton, PA

Post by akg414 » Sat Aug 01, 2009 12:46 pm

mobtownstudios wrote:At $100 a rack, this is a solid choice. I have 4 of them. Used them for almost 10 years with no problems.

Neutrik NYS-SPP-L
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/NYSPP/
But are they able to be FULLY normalized? I want to be able to connect pairs through the back and have the connections be able to broken on the top or bottom.
- Brad

junomat
re-cappin' neve
Posts: 652
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 2:17 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Post by junomat » Sat Aug 01, 2009 4:16 pm


junomat
re-cappin' neve
Posts: 652
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 2:17 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Post by junomat » Sat Aug 01, 2009 4:16 pm


User avatar
vikingrecording
gettin' sounds
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 5:51 pm
Location: Richmond, VA
Contact:

Post by vikingrecording » Sun Aug 02, 2009 8:15 am

i would recommend getting either a punch block or solder patch bay so that you can get high quality jacks and it can be configured just the way you want it. no more fussing around with goofy plastic jacks on PCBs...

User avatar
T-rex
dead but not forgotten
Posts: 2124
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 5:44 am
Location: Louisville KY

Post by T-rex » Sun Aug 02, 2009 6:41 pm

I would agree with Viking, you can totally control the patchbay by wiring them up yourself.

However, the Neutriks can be had here:
http://www.redco.com/shopexd.asp?id=638
New and pretty inexpensive.
[Asked whether his shades are prescription or just to look cool]
Guy: Well, I am the drummer.

User avatar
The Real MC
steve albini likes it
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 6:50 am
Location: Tranquil secluded country
Contact:

Post by The Real MC » Wed Aug 05, 2009 8:32 pm

Find a used ProCo PM148.

They are 48 point patchbays with a four selector internal switch per pair that can select normal, half-normal, parallel, and open.

I have three of them in my studio, zero trouble so far.

User avatar
calaverasgrandes
ghost haunting audio students
Posts: 3233
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:23 pm
Location: Oakland
Contact:

Post by calaverasgrandes » Wed Aug 05, 2009 9:51 pm

yeah, the proco patchbays arent half bad.
I'f I had it to do over again I would get one of those dsub/TT patchbays that redco and audio accesories offer.
??????? wrote: "everything sounds best right before it blows up."

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 46 guests