Question about recorded cymbals.

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

squaresteve
pluggin' in mics

Post by squaresteve » Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:23 pm

Hey,

I have noticed that in a lot of records spanning multiple decades, the cymbals have a faster-than-real-life decay. I have recorded many "fast-crashes" of Zildjian A and K varieties, and a lot of other thin cymbals, and I can assert for sure that they don't die nearly as quickly as a lot of what I hear. Some good examples that band's have brought to me as references recently are Paramore's "Riot," Say Anything's "In Defense of The Genre," and NoFX's "So Long And Thanks For All The Shoes" albums. I am a drummer, and even though this sounds so unnatural to me, it does make for a lot of extra space in the mix, and seems like a trend worth figuring out.

I realize this could be achieved by recording the drums and the cymbals seperately, and then automating each cymbal hit, but I also don't think every record that has this sort of cymbal sound has been recorded like that. I'd like to know if it is something that is done to the cymbals themselves, if it is some type of unique processing, or a combination of both.

I realize as always that a good drummer in a good room is imperative. I think the severity of the quick decay on the cymbals I'm talking about extends far beyond something natural like that though... I would love any insight as to how this sort of unnaturally quick sound is achieved.

Thanks,
Steve

digitaldrummer
ghost haunting audio students

Post by digitaldrummer » Tue Oct 27, 2009 5:55 pm

gates? or maybe the overheads are higher above the kit? or maybe just crazy editing.
Mike
www.studiodrumtracks.com -- Drum tracks starting at $50!
www.doubledogrecording.com

jgimbel
carpal tunnel

Post by jgimbel » Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:48 pm