71 Fender Twin Reverb Hum attenuated by knob even W/o tubein

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

creaturesleeper
gimme a little kick & snare

71 Fender Twin Reverb Hum attenuated by knob even W/o tubein

Post by creaturesleeper » Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:01 am

OK this is driving me nut's...I have a 71 fender twin pre master volume. It has a hum which seems to come from the reverb circuit. Even with no load and everything on zero and the reverb pan and tube pulled you can still attenuate the hum with the reverb knob. This amp also has the typical vibrato opto tick but I found the fix for that...just a simple capacitor placement. Any Ideas where my reverb problem is coming from? Is it the reverb transformer? It does this with the 12AT7 Tube pulled and the Pan unhooked
Thanks!

Mudcloth
steve albini likes it

Post by Mudcloth » Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:54 pm

This may be a shot in the dark, but it might be the reverb pot. Try either jumping the terminals with a clip [try different combinations i.e. 1-2, 1-3, 2-3] and see if the hum goes away or replace the pot with the correct ohm pot. I believe it's a 100K linear pot. Good luck.
Matt Giles
Austin, Tx

http://www.mattguitargiles.com
http://www.myspace.com/mattguitargiles
http://www.thedrakesband.com/

How much is a stamp? I'll buy the goddamn stamp.

PretendMusic
audio school graduate

71 Fender Twin Reverb Hum attenuated by knob even W/o tube

Post by PretendMusic » Tue Nov 17, 2009 8:12 pm

So, I asked my friend, John, who is a long-time Fender amp-repair Pro, about this problem...
(BTW, He also owns several vintage Fender Amps, himself.) And, here's his reply:

"Without seeing it, I'll have to guess.
So, I am in no way responsible for being wrong when guessing...

The Fourth tube from the RIGHT, looking at it from the back, is the Mixer section of the circuit. Tube V4B, specifically, on the schematic.