Business card tagline?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Tims96
alignin' 24-trk

Business card tagline?

Post by Tims96 » Sun Jan 03, 2010 9:52 am

I am a recent audio school graduate, and am currently struggling with coming up with a tagline to put on my business card. I'm hoping that by posting my current idea here I can get a sense of how industry people will react. I know that in the grand scheme of things the tagline on my business card will have little to do with how successful I am as an engineer, but as I try to establish myself, first impressions are important.

The person designing the card came up with the phrase "I'll make you cool music and interesting noise." Simple, yes. Almost childish. But for some reason I find how straightforward it is kind of endearing. I think it expresses my desire to experiment in a simple, direct manner, but am also worried it's too unprofessional. Just to provide some context, the overall design of the card is "rustic" and hand-drawn.

Does anyone have any initial reactions to this, be they positive or negative? Please, be as brutal as necessary. I want to make sure that it's memorable, but obviously not in a bad way. If you, as an artist or studio owner, received this card, what would you think?

Thanks in advance!

cgarges
zen recordist

Post by cgarges » Sun Jan 03, 2010 10:00 am

Unless a tag line is really funny, I usually find them unintentionally funny or goofy. I think just the pertinent information in the simplest possible manner is cool.

A friend of mine put his own recipe for beef wellington on the back of his cards. I thought that was pretty good, especially since he's a piano player.

Chris Garges
Charlotte, NC

Kel
pluggin' in mics

Re: Business card tagline?

Post by Kel » Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:34 am

Tims96 wrote:"I'll make you cool music and interesting noise."