Four-track problems (sticky shed?)

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

masonpitzel
alignin' 24-trk

Four-track problems (sticky shed?)

Post by masonpitzel » Wed Jan 20, 2010 4:48 pm

(originally posted in Gear Talk because I'm a dumbass)

So I just started playing around with the Teac A-3440 my band purchased the other day, and there's definitely something wrong with it but I have no idea what.

Here's what goes down:
- Play. Tape starts playing back extremely fast -- just marginally slower than FF. Freq response is limited as well. It sounds mainly a lot like listening to a fast-fowarding tape on repro. (Regardless of whether I put it on 7.5 or 15 ips, this happens.)
- Reverse, to slow the tape before stopping. While it's reversing the sound gets clearer and louder. You know what a reversing tape sounds like; this sounds like that. (This is the part where I get a little excited because things seem like they're working how they should). Stop.
- Play. Tape seizes up immediately. From here I can FF or reverse, and hear things on repro through the headphones in the meantime, but I can't play the tape. Whenever I hit Play, the machine just instantly goes "chnk" and stops.

I think I've eliminated sticky shed as a cause, as I cleaned the heads and tried two different reels that I know to be shed-free, and the same thing happened. On top of that, I can play the tape pretty much all the way through if I don't stop and re-start -- it just plays retardedly fast, like 50 ips or something. If I stop and re-start, it'll seize, and won't play again til I put a different reel on.

Anyone have any ideas?

Addendum: Okay, so now it won't play at all. Just ff and rev. Definitely thinking the path is all gummed up from sticky shed. Can anyone confirm?

The Scum
moves faders with mind

Post by The Scum » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:52 pm