Help? Basics on recording a drum machine?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

astaticwhitesound
audio school graduate

Help? Basics on recording a drum machine?

Post by astaticwhitesound » Fri Jan 22, 2010 12:08 pm

Hey everyone,
I have an EMU 1212m interface and a modest home studio set up. I have NO experience recording hardware drum machines. I do have REASON and have used that for programming drums whenever the need arose for myself. But I am recording my friends' band tomorrow and they have a Roland R-8 drum machine. They want to just record live, and they envision me just using the stereo outputs of the drum machine sraight into my system, which I can do, I obviously would prefer to have each drum on a seperate track. So, I asked them what other outputs they have and they said the box has 8 analog outputs but they don't know how to assign different drum sounds to each and the manual is apparently no help.

How would I go about doing this? Is anyone familiar with these old Rolands and how to assign sounds to channels? Or is there a way to use the MIDI out to record it all as MIDI and separate it once its in my system somehow (can i use REASON for this?)?

Any advice & suggestions would be really helpful! Thanks!
My band The Silence Kit: Philadelphia Indie rock band

LazarusLong
steve albini likes it

Post by LazarusLong » Fri Jan 22, 2010 12:14 pm

MIDI is not audio. The best way to think of it is that it's a control language. MIDI says things like "Note On 34, Velocity 123" to whatever is listening, not "beep" or "boop".
The truth of a proposition has nothing to do with its credibility. And vice versa.

astaticwhitesound
audio school graduate

Post by astaticwhitesound » Fri Jan 22, 2010 12:20 pm