Looking for a step up from my Duet

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

jh8406
ass engineer

Looking for a step up from my Duet

Post by jh8406 » Tue Feb 02, 2010 8:41 pm

I'm doing a little research and thinking about improving my sonic fidelity with a new interface. I figure this would be a huge part in making just better sounding recordings. Any suggestions appreciated.

palinilap
buyin' gear

Post by palinilap » Tue Feb 02, 2010 11:01 pm

I have no experience with the Duet, but love my Black Lion Sparrow. Excellent definition. Almost impossible to sound muddy. Got mine for $500 on ebay, and then noticed another went for $450 the next day!

ctmsound
george martin

Post by ctmsound » Tue Feb 02, 2010 11:10 pm

Not sure what you want to spend, but that Sparrow into a simple SPDIF interface (or your apple computer if you have one) along with 2 channels of decent mic pre, you'd step that up easy.

firby
takin' a dinner break

Post by firby » Wed Feb 03, 2010 9:46 am

The Duet sounds pretty good. Are you using the pres on it ? What does your entire signal chain look like and what are you doing ?

To tromp the duet I would think you would need to look at a UA product or something that is more than a grand. Maybe there is a better way to improve your sonics.

My only complaint with the duet is that it is just two channels. I think that is a move on the company's part to try and get people that upgrade to buy the symphony system.
I'm a bad man!

kslight
mixes from purgatory

Post by kslight » Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:22 am

firby wrote:The Duet sounds pretty good. Are you using the pres on it ? What does your entire signal chain look like and what are you doing ?

To tromp the duet I would think you would need to look at a UA product or something that is more than a grand. Maybe there is a better way to improve your sonics.