PT hd 8 tempo and plugins

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
*cisko*
studio intern
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 2:13 pm
Location: Bogota, Colombia

PT hd 8 tempo and plugins

Post by *cisko* » Fri Feb 19, 2010 2:19 pm

Hey has anyone else had problems with plug ins not sync'ing to the session tempo on protools 8.03?
if so have you found a solution for it? or is it just another of the annoying bugs on pt8

User avatar
Nick Sevilla
on a wing and a prayer
Posts: 5035
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:34 pm
Location: Lake Arrowhead California USA
Contact:

Re: PT hd 8 tempo and plugins

Post by Nick Sevilla » Sat Feb 20, 2010 7:05 pm

*cisko* wrote:Hey has anyone else had problems with plug ins not sync'ing to the session tempo on protools 8.03?
if so have you found a solution for it? or is it just another of the annoying bugs on pt8
I am using BOOM as a click and it has worked flawlessly.

I also have Omnishpere, and until the latest update, I did have issues with it not playing back at random times, and freezing some other times. But it seems to be working good now, since the last update in January 2010.

I am using Pro Tools HD 8.0.3.
Howling at the neighbors. Hoping they have more mic cables.

User avatar
Marc Alan Goodman
george martin
Posts: 1400
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 7:57 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Post by Marc Alan Goodman » Sun Feb 21, 2010 8:45 am

No problems here. Are you using a conductor track or no?

User avatar
digitaldrummer
resurrected
Posts: 2435
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 9:51 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Post by digitaldrummer » Sun Feb 21, 2010 1:55 pm

I had lots of weird problems with 8.0.3. In all cases a reboot would make everything work again for a little while. Some of the symptoms I had:

- tracks out of sync
- loud bursts of static
- tracks that when armed sounded like I had a bad cable - i.e. light static

When I read the DUC forum I realized I was not alone. Luckily going back to 8.0.1 has been 99% problem free for me -- I say 99% because I still heard the loud static bursts once, but all of the other BS has not been repeated so I am staying with 8.0.1 for now. I found it nearly impossible to work with 8.0.3 with the random static threatening your ears -- and then there is nothing that gives you that sinking feeling like when you hit playback and everything is totally jumbled and playing in the wrong places!! But luckily, it seems to be software (or memory buffer) related and not actual corruption of the WAV files.

Mike
Mike
www.studiodrumtracks.com -- Drum tracks starting at $50!
www.doubledogrecording.com

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 40 guests