Somebody want to use my song in a tv show! What do I do?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Professor T
pushin' record

Somebody want to use my song in a tv show! What do I do?

Post by Professor T » Wed Feb 24, 2010 8:20 am

We've got some interest in using a couple of our songs in a tv show as incidental background music. Or maybe a theme song, I'm not sure.

Our songs are available through Pump Audio, so I could just direct the TV people over there and let them license the music through them, or we could deal one on one via a lawyer.

I'm not sure what to do. What experience do you all have with music licensing for television?

Thanks!

Gentleman Jim
buyin' a studio

Post by Gentleman Jim » Wed Feb 24, 2010 8:51 am

I have no first hand experience in this, but I do know a few people who have done it, and on different levels. I also know tv producers and a woman who does music clearances for tv in Canada. Here's what I think they would say if they were asked.

First: be realistic about what the show is. If you're talking about a production for a local tv station, that's going to be different than a syndicated show, which is different from something for PBS, which is different from a cable reality show, which is different from a major network sitcom or crime drama... You get the idea.

Second: if the production is large and it's a show that could reasonably go into reruns and syndication, you might want to consider bypassing Pump Audio and getting a lawyer. If it's a one-shot incidental use on a cable reality show about a muffler repair shop, then maybe Pump Audio can get the job done without making everyone crazy. (I once lost a small record deal for a band I was in by hiring a lawyer who made everyone crazy. Not every contract has to be negotiated like a war crimes trial.)