can i control my DAW with my phone?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
C_R_J
steve albini likes it
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 2:27 am
Location: lincoln, nebraska
Contact:

can i control my DAW with my phone?

Post by C_R_J » Sun May 09, 2010 1:12 pm

i just got a super duper fancy phone for the first time in my life (htc incredible) and was reading about apps and stuff for it that can remotely control itunes and stuff like that, and i was curious if any DAWs can be remotely controlled with a phone. i would love something like this, so that i wouldnt have to run up and down my god damn stairs day and night when im recording at my house.

there is a remote desktop program. hmmmm. that could work right?

just throwing this out there for discussion.
time is money and im wasting both...

xonlocust
tinnitus
Posts: 1228
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 3:38 pm
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Post by xonlocust » Sun May 09, 2010 3:32 pm

dunno about your particular phone, but for iphone:

http://www.folabs.com/proremote.html

more universal:

http://www.iteleportmobile.com/

cheaper/free:

http://www.mochasoft.dk/iphone_vnc.htm

i sometimes use mocha vnc lite w/my iphone to do this - it can get wonky if it times out, but it's free and fun to futz with.

looks like this may work:

http://pages.logmein-inc.com/page.aspx? ... 2bca84e44b

you're basically looking for VNC.

litepipe
audio school graduate
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 9:19 am
Location: Brooklyn
Contact:

Post by litepipe » Fri May 14, 2010 3:16 pm

how well do they work for drawing automation? is it as good as a mackie controller? is there lag? can you grab a few faders at one time and automate? What about adjusting plugins? thanks!!
Mark Marshall
Knob Twiddler
www.knobtwiddler.net

signorMars
re-cappin' neve
Posts: 741
Joined: Wed May 28, 2003 12:30 pm
Location: El Paso, TX

Post by signorMars » Sat May 15, 2010 6:41 am

Cubase has a free transport program for iPhone/iPod Touch. Haven't used it yet, since I don't have an iPhone yet, but it looks nice.
---
ross ingram
[brainville]

User avatar
JGriffin
zen recordist
Posts: 6739
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 1:44 pm
Location: criticizing globally, offending locally
Contact:

Post by JGriffin » Sun May 16, 2010 12:28 am

last week during tech rehearsals we were all very geeked out when we discovered that there's an app to remotely control QLab.

Now one of us just has to get an iPhone...
"Jeweller, you've failed. Jeweller."

"Lots of people are nostalgic for analog. I suspect they're people who never had to work with it." ? Brian Eno

All the DWLB music is at http://dwlb.bandcamp.com/

rydberg
pushin' record
Posts: 283
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 12:55 pm
Location: Illadelph
Contact:

Post by rydberg » Mon May 17, 2010 9:03 am

kinda OT, but somewhat specific....

I bought Air Mouse for the iPhone a few months ago intending to use it as a remote control for the Mac Mini at home (which is doing service mostly as a music server/photo library/HTPC kinda thing). And I ALMOST bought the Far Out Labs Pro Transport until I realized I already had a remote transport in Air Mouse. I do a lot of overdubbing of myself at work and setting up a long pre-roll to give myself time to get into the booth sucks. So I just set up Pro Tools to be addressed by the Air Mouse Server, turned on the wifi network and used the numeric keypad mode in Air Mouse, which basically becomes a PT transport. Stroll into the booth, get comfortable, hit record when you're ready. It's really useful.

But you don't have an iPhone or use PT, hence the OT-ness of this particular response. But like dwlb mentioned, it's easy to get geeked out when you can harness technology to do something incredibly simple and useful. Hence, my geeked out response.

User avatar
sonocide6
alignin' 24-trk
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 9:41 pm
Location: Metamora, IL
Contact:

Post by sonocide6 » Tue May 18, 2010 10:04 am

Sometimes I just like to push the mouse around with my handset.

C_R_J
steve albini likes it
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 2:27 am
Location: lincoln, nebraska
Contact:

logmein

Post by C_R_J » Tue May 18, 2010 4:51 pm

logmein beta is awesome, but the beta is currently closed. remote desktop android app. easy to set up.

ive basically just been looking for a way to save me trips up and down my stairs just to hit start and stop on my DAW. this seems to work pretty ok.
time is money and im wasting both...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 43 guests