Installing a Transformer in DIY Subkick

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
elbows
alignin' 24-trk
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 11:36 pm
Location: Ossining, NY
Contact:

Installing a Transformer in DIY Subkick

Post by elbows » Fri Jul 16, 2010 10:14 pm

I've recently revisited a home-made Subkick that I had abandoned after its signal seemed too low to use even in front of a DI box.

Been doing some thinking, and (correct me if I'm wrong here, please) I think installing a transformer (perhaps the one I pulled from an SM57) in the Subkick could solve some of my problems.

Is this a fair approach?
What kind of transformer is best suited to take on this duty?
What would be the best way to mount it and wire it?
Any other ideas?

Thanks

User avatar
bantam
suffering 'studio suck'
Posts: 480
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 3:55 pm
Location: boston MA
Contact:

Post by bantam » Fri Jul 16, 2010 10:39 pm

read up on impedance. it is resistance that is frequency dependent. so if your xfo wont pass below 80hz it could be doing more harm than good. all 1:2 or 1:4 transformers are not alike, thats where you need to know impedance ratio.

User avatar
A.David.MacKinnon
ghost haunting audio students
Posts: 3415
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 5:57 am
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Post by A.David.MacKinnon » Sat Jul 17, 2010 2:17 am

Check your connections. I made a sub kick a few years back and found that the output was huge even without a transformer. I usually have to pad the mic pre when I use it.

User avatar
rolandk
buyin' gear
Posts: 535
Joined: Sun May 18, 2003 4:52 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Post by rolandk » Sat Jul 17, 2010 7:44 pm

I'm using a Radio Shack unbalanced to balanced xfmr, works great. Maybe your speaker is bad? Try running some signal through it.
my band: Mission 5

strdsk
re-cappin' neve
Posts: 796
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 12:48 am
Location: Illinois...near Chicago

Post by strdsk » Sun Jul 18, 2010 4:40 pm

Something is def wrong. Those things have tons of output. I've made MANY of them...all need padding.
Working on music with Pete from Porno for Pyros...

User avatar
RodC
dead but not forgotten
Posts: 2039
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 8:53 pm
Location: Right outside the door
Contact:

Post by RodC » Thu Jul 22, 2010 1:19 pm

strdsk wrote:Something is def wrong. Those things have tons of output. I've made MANY of them...all need padding.
Agreed, much much higher than most dynamic mics. Maybe your preamp dont like a real low impedance load... not likely, but you may want to try a different one.
'Well, I've been to one world fair, a picnic, and a rodeo, and that's the stupidest thing I ever heard come over a set of earphones'

http://www.beyondsanityproductions.com
http://www.myspace.com/beyondsanity

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 41 guests