New Rockstudio Design & Construction!

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

rockstudio
gettin' sounds

New Rockstudio Design & Construction!

Post by rockstudio » Sat Aug 21, 2010 1:14 pm

Hi, I have finally acquired my own piece of land for my commercial studio. I plan to start building by spring 2011. I have operated out of my current studio space since 2002, which is a budget half-arsed attempt by the previous owner to fashion a recording studio out of a nice, large department store. The size of this studio is great, however the rooms were not properly planned and there is very little isolation between rooms and such. My studio is in the hot/wet land of southeast Georgia, on the coast, in a downtown setting.

I record mainly rock music. I would like to have a vocal room, and two guitar iso booths. I have been doing everything in my large live room for the past 8 1/2 years, and I have to compromise when doing live stuff.

I have a building on my new property already, which I plan on doubling to give the interior dimensions of roughly 44' x 22' with an A-frame ceiling starting 8' at the edges and peaking at 12'.

Before I start designing anything, I want to talk to my friends who have built their studios, and see if there's anything they wish they had / hadn't done while building / designing.

Any advice to start?

Nick Sevilla
on a wing and a prayer

Post by Nick Sevilla » Sun Aug 22, 2010 10:04 am

Hi,

A 44' by 22' is not enough space for a commercial studio, unless you are a one room facility, used for smaller recording projects.

Since you mention recording rock music, let me ask :

Do you record one musician at a time always, or do live tracking with the whole band?

The answer to this question will determine if your space is enough.