What's your favorite pair for overheads?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

spencerwalters
pluggin' in mics

What's your favorite pair for overheads?

Post by spencerwalters » Tue Sep 07, 2010 10:12 pm

For awhile I've had to use a pair of :shock: MXL 990s :shock: as my condensor mics and now that I have some spare cash I'm looking to get a new pair. My budget is around $1000 for the pair.

Any recommendations? I've been looking at some RODE models like the NT1-A, NTK, and the NT5s. It'd love to get a pair of Neumann TLM 102s though. Which condensors are good for what? I'm a noob when it comes to microphones.
- Spencer

chris harris
speech impediment

Post by chris harris » Tue Sep 07, 2010 10:42 pm

If you want LDCs, you could probably find a pair of used 414s for around $1000.
If you want ribbons, you could probably find a pair of used m160s for around $1000.

You may have to go a little over-budget with those mics. But, both of those are super useful on a number of sources and sound fantastic.

The Scum
moves faders with mind

Post by The Scum » Tue Sep 07, 2010 11:10 pm

Josephson C42's fit the budget, and make pretty tasty overheads.

Also been using the ol' group buy ribbons, AT4047's and Earthworks omnis.

cgarges
zen recordist

Post by cgarges » Tue Sep 07, 2010 11:14 pm