Sample rates query

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

nobody, really
takin' a dinner break

Sample rates query

Post by nobody, really » Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:41 pm

what sample rates do folks use and why? i'm fairly new to digital recording and reading about people using 88.2 or 48 or whatnot. so i'm wondering, if your AD box can do 96 or 192 why go with a lower number? there's gotta be reasons, yah?

evan
buyin' gear

Post by evan » Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:13 pm

kslight
mixes from purgatory

Post by kslight » Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:42 pm

I'd say record at the highest sample rate that is practical to your setup...if you are using low end gear and/or the scope of your project is at best a limited release it probably won't matter.. I was a 24/44.1 guy for awhile and lately I've been doing 24/96 only (in the last 6 months). I don't know if the difference I hear is sample rate related or due to different processes altogether down the line but I feel that my mixes lately are coming out better...and I'm mixing ITB...often tracking to tape, dumping to HD24XR for overdubs, editing, and mixing. I haven't bothered to do any experiments because the guy I'm working with insists on 24/96 so whether or not there is a difference it doesn't matter (and the guy is pro so I'm inclined to listen rather than lose the work).

For some reason I want to say that plugins generally sound better at h higher sample rates, fact check though?

ott0bot
dead but not forgotten

Post by ott0bot » Thu Oct 14, 2010 1:42 pm

When I'm recording I try to keep in mind what the end medium is going to be. It is just a digital file, is it going onto a cd, is it being transferred to vinyl, or maybe it's audio for a film that will be released on a DVD, or even bluray! I'll use the sample rate that the project demands.