Drum Miking/Recording

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Randyrhoads1981
audio school graduate

Drum Miking/Recording

Post by Randyrhoads1981 » Tue Oct 19, 2010 4:54 pm

Hello, I am new to the world of Recording as well
as TapeOp. I have a Home Studio and I record to Tape(1" 16-Track).
I am thinking of how many Mics I will "need"
to get a nice full sounding Drum take.

My original idea was to Mic everything.
But when I took my Shure Beta57 around the
Drum-set, I found that one mic can easily pickup
more than one drum and multiple Mics can
even cause more phase problems.

So... I was wondering what would be the bare minimum
as to how many mics I'd need for a great Drum sound?
Which Toms should I Mic, if any?

Here are my Microphone choices:
Kick) Shure Beta52 or AKG D112
Snare and Toms) Shure SM57's
Overheads) Oktava MK-012's

This is a great Forum and Magazine.
I enjoy being here very much.
Thanks,
-Thomas

The Scum
mixes from purgatory

Post by The Scum » Tue Oct 19, 2010 5:01 pm

The bare minimum: one mic.

One mic can be plenty, until it becomes too few.

If you dig here a bit, you'll find people who use one, two, three, four, and more mics. There are some fairly sophisticated discussions relating to each of those options.

Some keywords to help find those discussions:
PZM, boundary, Blumlein, ORTF, Jecklin, Recorderman, Glyn Johns.

jnTracks
steve albini likes it

Post by jnTracks » Wed Oct 20, 2010 3:54 am

+1

for pre-pro demo's i often do two. kick and overhead.

if you wanted a stereo image out of two mics i'd try something i learned a long time ago.