Bass and baritone recording help please

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

LupineSound
gettin' sounds

Bass and baritone recording help please

Post by LupineSound » Wed Dec 29, 2010 7:25 pm

Hello, I am new to home recording and am beginning my first DIY session tomorrow with my band. I have a very limited mic selection and was wondering would you all would recommend using in these scenarios.

The bass player tunes to standard E. He plays a V4 out of Carvin 4x10. He's got a slighty dirty sound.

The baritone player (me :P) is tuned to A and playing through a Dual Rectifier.

Here's what I got for mic's:

SM57
Beta58
Audix D6
AKG D112
Oktava MK-012-01
(2) MXL 990
(2) MXL 991

So far I've tried the D6 mixed with a little bit of the SM57 to capture some of the fuzz on the bass. It sounded ok.

I've tried using just the SM57 on the baritone but it was missing a lot of the beef.

In both cases I just put the mic 1cm in front of the speker. I briefly tried off-axis position, but it just seemed to make it sound worse.

Also, if I may, I've noticed a lot of you talking about "watch the phase" when doubling guitar tracks. What does that mean? I know that when you mix up the red and black on speaker cables it makes it out of phase and sounds quieter. How does that happen with multi-tracking.

I'm plugging the mics straight into a Digi 002R, if that matters.

Thanks!!!
Last edited by LupineSound on Wed Dec 29, 2010 7:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kslight
mixes from purgatory

Post by kslight » Wed Dec 29, 2010 7:44 pm

I am personally not big on multiple mics on the same guitar part, usually sounds weird to me or phasey. Though I almost always double (as in truly perform the track twice, not copy paste). For your application and limited mic selection I would focus on getting one mic to sound good rather than struggle with two out of phase mics.