Fender Silverface Champ questions

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Matt C.
suffering 'studio suck'

Fender Silverface Champ questions

Post by Matt C. » Mon Jan 03, 2011 12:58 pm

I just bought a 1979 Silverface Fender Champ on a whim and i'm having a bit of buyer's remorse. i wanted something for that "tiny tube amp cranked to 10" sound, but the distortion i'm getting out of this thing is pretty unpleasant.

i know this a subjective issue, but what are my options as far as trying to change this tone? change tubes? change the speaker? open it up and modify the circuit or replace the caps? i'm new to DIY stuff and haven't worked on tube amps before, but i hear this amp is a good place to start.

thanks!

ulriggribbons
steve albini likes it

Post by ulriggribbons » Mon Jan 03, 2011 1:33 pm

First up, do you know that the amp is functioning properly now? If it isn't, that could be part of your problem. Either have someone check it out, or try to find another champ (local store, local musician) that you can play so you can determine this.

If it's working properly, and it's not your thing, I would sell it and find what your thing is, rather than Frankensteining a perfectly good amp, especially if you have zero experience with amp modifications.

$.02

Regards

Jon

Matt C.
suffering 'studio suck'

Post by Matt C. » Mon Jan 03, 2011 1:38 pm

as far as i can tell it's working properly, but i don't really know for sure. the clean tone at lower volumes is great, there's no buzzing or hissing or anything like that.

???????
resurrected

Post by ??????? » Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:45 pm

mattcastore wrote:Ibut what are my options as far as trying to change this tone? change tubes? change the speaker?
change amps.