Headphone Reccomendations for Mixing

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

plurgid
gettin' sounds

Headphone Reccomendations for Mixing

Post by plurgid » Fri Jan 07, 2011 7:51 am

Everyone ... I was reading this thread http://bit.ly/i42uBW
which is serendipitous, because my beloved Sennheiser HD 580s have finally took what I believe may be their final crapout.

I love the hell out of these headphones and I've been using them every day for something like 7 years now I think. Last year one of my kids managed to break the fork that holds the left side onto the headband, but I managed to get it back on first with superglue (which failed), then with a strategically placed rubber band. But now the cord is going too and the right channel is consistently dead ... and the rubber band always pulls my hair out.

I see you can buy replacement parts from Sennheiser (but not a replacement fork, I checked for that).

My well-meaning wife bought me some cheapie "superlux" headphones from the local music store for Christmas ... and I don't have the heart to tell her that they suck donkey nutz ... it's like jamming razor sharp pencils right into my ear drums.

But that's sort of a different issue.

It's time for me to get some new 'phones and it looks like the 580's are discontinued!

Though it's roundly discouraged ... I often mix with headphones because I like to work at night and I've got kids and not a lot of soundproofing.

So yes, i shouldn't be mixin' on headphones, but I got no other choice a lot of the time ... so at long last, gentlemen (and ladies) ... i ask you ... what's some good headphones to get?

nordberg
pushin' record

Post by nordberg » Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:16 am

as far as sennheisers go, i'd recommend the 840's. personally, i'm a big fan of the beyerdynamic dt770's.
A gaggle of geese? A tangle of cables!

chris harris
speech impediment

Post by chris harris » Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:35 am