Molot compressor

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

kinger
steve albini likes it
Posts: 382
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Vancouver Island

Molot compressor

Post by kinger » Sat Mar 12, 2011 11:44 am

I've been really enjoying this free vst compressor so I thought I'd post a link here. This thing stands up to really expensive plugins and is virtually artifact-free. It's quite aggressive and makes a great drum buss compressor. Looks cool, too! I'd be interested to hear other people's opinions of it.

http://vladgsound.wordpress.com/downloads/

kinger
steve albini likes it
Posts: 382
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Vancouver Island

Post by kinger » Mon Mar 28, 2011 2:35 pm

What, no takers? :wink: Just saw this is now available in AU as well for you Mac-hippies. It really is a great sounding compressor and really is free; it's one of the most hardware-sounding VSTs I've tried. And no, I'm not affiliated.

User avatar
eeldip
dead but not forgotten
Posts: 2139
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 5:10 pm
Location: NoPo

Post by eeldip » Mon Mar 28, 2011 8:20 pm

just d/l'ed. i'll install and check it out tomorrow. DONT PANIC.

kinger
steve albini likes it
Posts: 382
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Vancouver Island

Post by kinger » Tue Mar 29, 2011 10:26 am

I'll just sit on my hands until I hear back. :wink:

User avatar
eeldip
dead but not forgotten
Posts: 2139
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 5:10 pm
Location: NoPo

Post by eeldip » Tue Mar 29, 2011 3:15 pm

aborted nap time for my daughter erased compressor time from the calendar.

and the suspense in this thread is palpable.

User avatar
eeldip
dead but not forgotten
Posts: 2139
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 5:10 pm
Location: NoPo

Post by eeldip » Wed Mar 30, 2011 6:17 pm

conclusion: failed logic au manager (did not launch). prolly since i am running logic .03 on system -4.

you can thank me for ruining this thread.

E-money
pushin' record
Posts: 259
Joined: Sat May 10, 2003 9:11 am
Location: Philadelphia PA

Post by E-money » Thu Mar 31, 2011 4:09 am

Not working for me either in Sonar 2.0.
I installed into my VST folder and ran FXpansion VST Adapter, which appeared to recognize it, but it doesn't show up in my Audio Effects menu.
"Politics are like sports, where all the teams suck"

Gentleman Jim
buyin' a studio
Posts: 980
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 10:38 am

Post by Gentleman Jim » Sun Apr 03, 2011 1:03 pm

eeldip wrote:i am running logic .03 on system -4.
What does this mean?

User avatar
casey campbell
buyin' a studio
Posts: 927
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:21 am
Location: hammond, louisiana

Post by casey campbell » Mon Apr 04, 2011 7:02 am

Gentleman Jim wrote:
eeldip wrote:i am running logic .03 on system -4.
What does this mean?
ha ha ha, that is so funny!

its a tongue and cheek comment on running a new plugin on an ancient legacy daw on a really old computer.... which i found hilarious!

User avatar
eeldip
dead but not forgotten
Posts: 2139
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 5:10 pm
Location: NoPo

Post by eeldip » Mon Apr 04, 2011 7:52 am

basically most of my songs are highly dependent on stuff that runs on pluggo architecture. pluggo has been abandoned by cycling74 for a few years now.

so that means that my 2006 computer will remain 2006 in hardware and OS till i get the guts to render all my songs and move on.

its one thing to have to leave behind a compressor (RIP blockfish). but when you are doing these modulation/delay/granular things that are synced and feeding back to the source, there really isn't a workaround.

User avatar
blungo2
re-cappin' neve
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 6:08 pm
Location: so close to hell you can see sparks
Contact:

Post by blungo2 » Mon Apr 04, 2011 8:08 am

Got it successfully installed in reaper on snow leopard.
Haven't used it yet as i have a pretty good selection of comps that i like a lot. Will try it though...

kinger
steve albini likes it
Posts: 382
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Vancouver Island

Post by kinger » Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:20 am

blungo2 wrote:Got it successfully installed in reaper on snow leopard.
Haven't used it yet as i have a pretty good selection of comps that i like a lot. Will try it though...
Yeah, I've only found a couple of soft comps that do it for me (RS124 and The Glue are my favourites) but I'm really digging this one also. What are you using that you like?

User avatar
blungo2
re-cappin' neve
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 6:08 pm
Location: so close to hell you can see sparks
Contact:

Post by blungo2 » Tue Apr 05, 2011 6:39 pm

kinger wrote: Yeah, I've only found a couple of soft comps that do it for me (RS124 and The Glue are my favourites) but I'm really digging this one also. What are you using that you like?
I like a few of the UAD comps the 1176, LA2A and the Fairchild are all pretty cool imho.
I also use the Stillwell Major Tom a bit.

bparker12321
audio school
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:59 pm
Location: Nashville tn.

Post by bparker12321 » Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:11 pm

I'm so glad others see. This is my go to vst compressor. Off the top of my head I can't think of a single track, buss, or mix I haven't used it on, It's just that versatile and effective. :D

accordion squeezist
pushin' record
Posts: 218
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:34 am
Location: Spring Grove, Pennsylvania

Post by accordion squeezist » Wed Feb 06, 2013 1:10 pm

I like it.
I use it as my default mixbus compressor just to get a playback up and running, usually 1:1.5 ratio (try it!). Sometimes it makes it to the final mix, which is usually just boring singer/guitar demos these days. So I've never had to crank it up.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests