Clapping, Snapping, and other body percussion.

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

wesley.wittich
alignin' 24-trk

Clapping, Snapping, and other body percussion.

Post by wesley.wittich » Thu Mar 17, 2011 4:58 am

Here's the scenario:
I'm a college audio student, and I'm recording a couple friends for experience/practice/fun. Super low budget (read: 'no budget')...just using the gear I already own (which doesn't totally suck) and recording in whatever spare rooms we can find (usually my apartment).

For one song, they are wanting to do clapping, snapping, and some other body percussion, since we don't have time/space/a person/the right mics to do full drums. The other night, one of the guys came over and recorded one full track of claps and a full track of snaps, and now I'm trying to figure out what to do with them. I also had him record a track of a bunch of different kinds of claps, so I have to option to pick the ones that sound good, layer them, and build a track however I want.

My biggest issue is how to make a bunch of claps sound the best together. Should I build one good track, then copy it and nudge a couple milliseconds and do that a few times to make it sound like a bunch of people clapping? Or should I make a good track and copy it several times and EQ them all differently? Any suggestions on songs I could listen to that have clapping or snapping as the main percussion? I don't have a large reference pool to draw from on this one, so I'm just not sure where to start...

Thanks in advance!

Also, the Claps were recorded with an NT1a through a Mackie Onyx 1640i into a MBP running PT9, if that makes any difference.

A.David.MacKinnon
ears didn't survive the freeze

Post by A.David.MacKinnon » Thu Mar 17, 2011 5:34 am