Good Pro Tools tutorials

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

kingtoad
pushin' record

Good Pro Tools tutorials

Post by kingtoad » Thu Mar 31, 2011 4:15 am

Hi all,

I've been using Logic for about 5 years now and am firmly set in my ways, but I have a few sessions coming up at studios that only run Pro Tools. I do have a copy of Pro Tools 8 and an M Box for compatibility with outside sessions so I would like to brush up on my Pro Tools chops a bit.

Could anyone recommend a good online (or pdf or video or whatever) tutorial that will cover the basics of recording and editing in Pro Tools? Creating/arming tracks, comping vocals, editing drums, etc. Not so bothered about mixing as I will be transferring over to Logic for that. I am willing to pay for the right thing but obviously free would be great. I'm not a Luddite so I don't need the absolute basics of daws explaining to me, just PT specific stuff.

Anyone?

Tom

vxboogie
pushin' record

Post by vxboogie » Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:43 am

Any of the Kenny Gioia tutorials are good. There are a number on this site:
http://www.groove3.com/str/pro-tools-ti ... ks-v1.html

I think there are also some free ones around if you search on his name.
Mark - Listen, turn knob, repeat as necessary...

kingtoad
pushin' record

Post by kingtoad » Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:47 am

Thanks. I guess one thing that I would prefer is that the videos don't focus too much on engineering or "getting great sounds" or anything and instead concentrate on how to run PT efficiently.

vxboogie
pushin' record

Post by vxboogie » Thu Mar 31, 2011 6:02 am

kingtoad wrote:Thanks. I guess one thing that I would prefer is that the videos don't focus too much on engineering or "getting great sounds" or anything and instead concentrate on how to run PT efficiently.