Apple's Commitment to Logic

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Wilson
studio intern

Apple's Commitment to Logic

Post by Wilson » Fri Jul 01, 2011 12:54 am

Hello gang,

In light of the Apple's recent pr disaster after the release of Final Cut Pro X, should Logic users question the company's commitment to the program and consider moving on to something else, or should we just stay put?

I'm a freelance engineer and do lots of live sound and live recording work. Thank you all for your bits.
As in music, so in life

Nick Sevilla
on a wing and a prayer

Post by Nick Sevilla » Fri Jul 01, 2011 3:14 am

Hi,

After using Logic extensively since 2001, I went back to Pro Tools HD in 2007.
Since 2006 I have seen Logic go from bad to worse. Now, I use it occasionally for some of it's effects, as either an offline editor / mangler, or as an effects send / return box.
It is simply too unstable for my taste.

Cheers
Howling at the neighbors. Hoping they have more mic cables.

jnTracks
steve albini likes it

Post by jnTracks » Fri Jul 01, 2011 3:46 am

as apple's market share grows they become less likely to stick with their professional users and rather aim for expanding casual users.

just like how there is only one factor that decides if a movie gets a sequel, apple will always go where the money is.
as soon as they decide there is more money in getting people who want just a touch more than garage band to pay $300 for a bigger consumer level product, that's what they will do.

this is really more of an observation than a prediction. it's just what they have always done.
-Justin Newton
railroadavenuerecording.com what i like to do

engelen62
audio school

Post by engelen62 » Fri Jul 01, 2011 4:34 am

I have used logic almost everyday since it was on atari too many years ago. In my view logic has gone from good to better.. some bumps on the road though..

The reason protools will not do it for me: