"Trust Me, I'm A Scientist" Issue #1 Out Today!

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

fossiltooth
carpal tunnel

"Trust Me, I'm A Scientist" Issue #1 Out Today!

Post by fossiltooth » Mon Aug 01, 2011 7:34 am

Hello fellow scientists of sound! The new once-monthly music magazine "Trust Me, I'm A Scientist" officially turns zero today!

Thanks to you, we've already had a killer beta run with over 1,000 visitors and hundreds of signups in the month of July.

I'm happy to report that the August issue is now out and ready for reading. In it, you'll find:

-->A fresh listen to an overlooked classic from the Ventures' days in Japan.
-->A comprehensive drum-tuning guide for producers and engineers.
-->The story of "The Mad Genius of Manchester", Factory Records producer Martin Hannett (Joy Division, Buzzcocks, New Order).
-->A 3-part pre-mastering checklist suitable for everyday engineers and home recordists alike. (Written by mastering engineer Scott Craggs - MoreSpaceEcho here on the TOMB)
-->"Behind The Release" interviews featuring Booker T. Jones (Stax), Gabe Roth (Daptone), Nicolas Vernhes (Dirty Projectors, Fiery Furnaces, Bjork), and Sondre Lerche. Plus more stories and bonus videos!

Please enjoy,

markjazzbassist
tinnitus

Post by markjazzbassist » Mon Aug 01, 2011 11:52 am

good stuff. the gabe roth on booker t article was great. i love all the questlove ADD on drum tones, hilarious.

the mastering article was very interesting, great stuff to note.

thanks

fossiltooth
carpal tunnel

Post by fossiltooth » Mon Aug 01, 2011 2:37 pm

Thanks, glad you're digging it! That Booker one was fun to do, and yeah I really liked Scott's piece too. Maybe I can convince him to do another down the line. I think I managed to twist his arm and get Tony (drumsound) to agree to contribute one next month. Psyched about that one too. Stay tuned!

Burnt Ernie
steve albini likes it