From Nuendo 3 to Cubase 6 "What will I miss? (if anythi

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Ryan Silva
tinnitus

From Nuendo 3 to Cubase 6 "What will I miss? (if anythi

Post by Ryan Silva » Sat Aug 20, 2011 4:52 pm

So I have been using Nuendo 3 for about 4-5 years now, and find it a more than adequate tool for my DAW needs. I rarely use Nuendo for scoring, or audio post (not once in the last 3 years). I work with a Lynx Aurora 16 on a PC, and use mostly VST, and Waves PlugIns. I do enjoy VSTis on almost every project I work on.

What disappointments might I expect if I go to Cubase 6?

Any help would be grand.

Thanks folks.
"Writing good songs is hard. recording is easy. "

MoreSpaceEcho

Wilson
studio intern

Post by Wilson » Sun Aug 21, 2011 11:07 pm

Nuendo and Cubase are essentially the same program from Steinberg except that Nuendo is more suited for postproduction work.The waves and VST plugins will also work on cubase 6 and the upgrade from Nuendo 3 to Nuendo 5 is 499$. Nuendo just released a free update that includes Cubase features such as the amp rack. Cubase probably has more soft synths than Nuendo. Why don't you go to the website, compare features and make your choice? Personally I'd upgrade to N5 and add any synths i may need. Much success to you!!

http://www.steinberg.net/en/home.html
As in music, so in life

joninc
dead but not forgotten

Post by joninc » Mon Aug 22, 2011 5:56 pm

cunase 6 has a bunch of new stuff. a lot of editing capabilities, midi triggering etc and some nice built in effects and keyboards. the impulse reverb is quite nice too.
the new rules : there are no rules

chorga1
pushin' record

Post by chorga1 » Tue Aug 23, 2011 8:35 am

You won't miss a damn thing. I've been using Cubase since SX 1.0

T-rex
dead but not forgotten

Post by T-rex » Tue Aug 23, 2011 6:58 pm