Sampler / drum machine recommendations?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

UnlikeKurt
pushin' record

Sampler / drum machine recommendations?

Post by UnlikeKurt » Fri Sep 09, 2011 7:52 am

Hello.
I'm looking to purchase a drum machine / sampler. I'd like something that isn't going to be a daunting task to learn to use, that can create loops and then tie them together and that sends midi so i can sync my synthesizer to it.
Oh, and of course, not break the bank too badly as i'm only a novice.

thanks for any suggestions!

kslight
mixes from purgatory

Post by kslight » Fri Sep 09, 2011 9:53 am

Most hardware doesn't sample any more, probably the cheapest option is the Korg ESX 1.

radmike
gimme a little kick & snare

This guy.....

Post by radmike » Tue Sep 13, 2011 5:33 am

I've been looking at the arturia spark. It seems pretty easy to use. It does require a USB connection to a computer though.

Hide
audio school

Post by Hide » Tue Sep 13, 2011 5:42 am

Akai MPC series is not bad. :)

alf
gettin' sounds

Post by alf » Tue Sep 13, 2011 6:38 am

^
+100000

I have had an MPC 2000XL since 1998 and don't know what I'd do w/o it. I have done all types of shit w/ it. Rap, metal, ambient, drone, noise, folk. Limitless. Put a sound in and work with it.

CAVEAT

The tech is older. You CAN get one with a CF reader or install one yourself(I did). But there is no direct connectivity to a computer. So what though? One less thing to get in the way.

BTW I have never had screen problems, but then I never left it on for weeks at a time like most of the cats who seem to have problems. That is something to look for. Buy one in front of you, not off ebay. The screens on some developed bad spots that got worse. HOWEVER someone has FINALLY solved the problem and new screens are set to come out in a year or so.

Nadir
audio school

Post by Nadir » Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:34 am