Sandy Bridge Graphics?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
chorga1
pushin' record
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 1:48 pm
Contact:

Sandy Bridge Graphics?

Post by chorga1 » Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:49 pm

Hi - I'm looking to build my own i7 rig. Are the built-in graphics on the new i7s up to the task of audio work and websurfing, or should I go for a separate graphics card? I'm getting a MB with the z68 chipset.


Thanks!

Cyan421
takin' a dinner break
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 3:56 pm
Location: Idaho (On The Causeway to Neverwhere)

Post by Cyan421 » Thu Sep 15, 2011 1:14 pm

I believe the previous chip was up to the task. I have an i5 760, Using a good graphics card now. When my Echo layla 3G gets here (common UPS) I might be taking out the graphics card, If its turns out to be too much for the PSU to have both. I got a cheap PSU....

I'm no computer pro, but one thing to consider would be how much ram the internal graphics would be using. Cause you DAW will want its fair share of RAM.
"What a wonerful smell you've discovered"

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests