Variable Impedance Circuit between Mic and Preamp?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

FlowersForHuman
takin' a dinner break

Variable Impedance Circuit between Mic and Preamp?

Post by FlowersForHuman » Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:55 am

I am interested in the possibility of building a passive circuit to go between my mics and preamps that would allow me to adjust impedance for different tones.
Is this a good idea/possible?

I'm still kind of new to DIY electronics but I can solder and I know some basics. I was thinking that dual gang linear pots like these could work but I'm not sure about the ratings. My initial concerns are these:

How do I limit the load range so it doesn't top/bottom out?

What would be the ideal range for ribbons to condensers?

How do I achieve such a range if not simply buying the right pots? Don't I have to take into consideration the preamp load combined with the pot?

How does phantom power factor in? Am I going to end up with a Darwin award?

Andy Peters
re-cappin' neve

Re: Variable Impedance Circuit between Mic and Preamp?

Post by Andy Peters » Thu Dec 08, 2011 10:36 pm

FlowersForHuman wrote:I am interested in the possibility of building a passive circuit to go between my mics and preamps that would allow me to adjust impedance for different tones.
Anything you put in front of the preamp works with the preamp.

If you're really into doing this, dig out the schematic for your preamp, and figure out how its input impedance is set. Usually, it's a pair of resistors connected to op-amp inputs or to transistor bases. Perhaps replace the resistors with a ganged pot.

But beware: as you increase the resistance (decrease the loading), the amplifier gets noisier because higher-value resistors are noisier than lower-value parts. Putting a high-gain stage after a higher-value resistor means a noisier preamp.