Protools 10 and iLoks

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
User avatar
wedge
tinnitus
Posts: 1088
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 9:08 pm
Location: Washington, D.C.

Protools 10 and iLoks

Post by wedge » Thu Dec 15, 2011 11:21 pm

I'm half of a production team. We each have our own Protools rigs in our respective apartments, and wish to upgrade to Protools 10. What we would *like* to do is buy one copy of the software, and have our own iLoks to boot said software. Is this possible, or does 10 require one and only iLok per instance of software? In other words, are we forced to buy our own copies of 10? Financially strapped producers would like to know...

User avatar
vxboogie
pushin' record
Posts: 284
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 11:25 am
Location: OH

Re: Protools 10 and iLoks

Post by vxboogie » Fri Dec 16, 2011 5:39 am

wedge wrote:I'm half of a production team. We each have our own Protools rigs in our respective apartments, and wish to upgrade to Protools 10. What we would *like* to do is buy one copy of the software, and have our own iLoks to boot said software. Is this possible, or does 10 require one and only iLok per instance of software? In other words, are we forced to buy our own copies of 10? Financially strapped producers would like to know...
2 iLoks = 2 licenses
Mark - Listen, turn knob, repeat as necessary...

chris harris
speech impediment
Posts: 4270
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2003 5:31 pm
Location: Norman, OK
Contact:

Post by chris harris » Fri Dec 16, 2011 6:05 am

Yes, you'll both need to buy the software if you both want to use the software.

Try this the next time you're dining with your production partner:

"We're both going to be ordering entrees. But, we're a 'production team', so we'd prefer to only pay for one."

User avatar
farview
tinnitus
Posts: 1204
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 1:42 pm
Location: St. Charles (chicago) IL
Contact:

Post by farview » Fri Dec 16, 2011 7:25 am

Think of it this way: The software is free, the license on the iLoc is what costs $600.

What you could do is load ProTools onto both of your computers and pass the iLoc back and forth. Of course, you would be sticking a $600 thumb drive in your pocket and walking around with it all the time, which is probably a stupid thing to do...

chris harris
speech impediment
Posts: 4270
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2003 5:31 pm
Location: Norman, OK
Contact:

Post by chris harris » Fri Dec 16, 2011 7:50 am

farview wrote:Think of it this way: The software is free, the license on the iLoc is what costs $600.

What you could do is load ProTools onto both of your computers and pass the iLoc back and forth. Of course, you would be sticking a $600 thumb drive in your pocket and walking around with it all the time, which is probably a stupid thing to do...
Actually, that's exactly what iLoks were designed for. I take mine with me all the time. And, I don't worry any more about losing or breaking it than I do about losing or breaking a microphone or something else I might take to a session.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 69 guests