Dumb Newb Question: MOTU 828 mkii as standalone mixer

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
User avatar
AnalogousGumdropDecoder
pushin' record
Posts: 220
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 5:26 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Dumb Newb Question: MOTU 828 mkii as standalone mixer

Post by AnalogousGumdropDecoder » Thu Feb 09, 2012 6:52 pm

Hey, I'm sure this is a stupid question with a simple answer and I can't imagine an explanation not being in the manual. But I can't find it, so here I am...

I got a MOTU 828 mkii a while back when I was trying to put together a home studio, which has still yet to happen. At the moment I'm needing something relatively portable to feed phantom power to a mic (my small board doesn't have phantom power and my large board isn't portable), which I've realized the 828 does. I've never had a computer with firewire to hook this thing up, so I've never even taken it out of the box. The manual says it can be used as a standalone mixer, but I'm having trouble figuring out the interface. I've been reading the manual, but 99% of it either isn't relevant or just plain doesn't make sense to me.

I'm simply trying to figure out how to plug a mic into one of the XLR jacks on the front of the unit, have the signal come out of one of the 1/4" jacks on the back of the unit, and control the level of the signal from the front panel. I've got the mic hooked into the first XLR jack, and the phantom power is ON. The only way I've been able to get sound to come out through my amp is if I plug the 1/4" cable into the Left Send jack. However, I then cannot figure out how to control the level. The "Trim" doesn't seem to do it, nor does adjusting the Gain of any of the channels from the front panel do it either (they're currently all turned down). I've tried plugging the 1/4" cable into the main outs and several of the analog outs and I can't make any sound come out. What am I doing wrong, and how do I fix it?
Love your new bananaskin shoulderpad,
Cody C. Gaisser
www.myspace.com/codygaisser

User avatar
Mudcloth
steve albini likes it
Posts: 332
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2003 6:30 pm
Location: Elgin, Texas
Contact:

Post by Mudcloth » Thu Feb 09, 2012 7:54 pm

You could come out of one of the main outputs. You can control that output level with the volume knob set to mains, as opposed to phones.
The Motu system has manual adjustments for sends, panning, and levels. It's just that it's kind of a pain in the neck to use the controls DPS cue mix on the front of the unit. Way easier to use the software for this, which I know you can't use, yet. Good luck!
Matt Giles
Austin, Tx


http://www.mattguitargiles.com
http://www.myspace.com/mattguitargiles
http://www.thedrakesband.com/

How much is a stamp? I'll buy the goddamn stamp.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 45 guests