Microphones that 'fit in the mix'

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Shellacattack
alignin' 24-trk

Microphones that 'fit in the mix'

Post by Shellacattack » Thu Jun 07, 2012 11:49 am

I've got a SM7B that I don't much care for on my vocals, or even with guitars, but really appreciate when it comes to kick drum and occasionally snare.

Last year, I bought a used Audix D6 in the hope of getting a beefier kick drum sound. While the D6 sounds pretty cool soloed, it isn't very useful in the mix. Granted, I'm not very good at any of this, but the D6 seems to take considerable tweaking just to sound ok. I've noticed this when other people have used a D6 as well.

Anyway, I was just mixing some super basic tracks from my band's last practice session, and it struck me (more than usual) how much I appreciate the SM7B on kick. When soloed, it's fine, but it's when the full mix is pulled up that it really shines. I find that it doesn't require much work to get it to peak through nicely.

So, my question to you guys is... What microphones are you consistently impressed with, in regards to their ability to sit in the mix with little or no tweaking?
"Took my money, I couldn't buy nothin. I'm sick of this brave new world."

vvv
zen recordist

Post by vvv » Thu Jun 07, 2012 12:02 pm

Currently:

Kick: E602

Tom: E503

OH: AT4040

Vocals: MD421n, SM7b

BV's: RE10/PL5, EV635s, Shure 63L

Elec. Guitars: E609, ribbons,

Ac. Gtrs in rock mix: AKGs190E, omni's

Bass amp: MD421 II, SM7b; RE320

Tambo: whatever's on vocals

I have been using different mic's and combinations on snare; lately Beta58 is pretty cool by itself on top ...

EDIT: to say "PL5"
Last edited by vvv on Thu Jun 07, 2012 5:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
bandcamp;
blog.
I mix with olive juice.

tonewoods
buyin' a studio

Re: Microphones that 'fit in the mix'

Post by tonewoods » Thu Jun 07, 2012 5:16 pm