Passive vs active nearfields - if the amp was free

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

IDQ
alignin' 24-trk

Passive vs active nearfields - if the amp was free

Post by IDQ » Sun Jul 08, 2012 7:32 pm

Hey all, I'll try to keep this short. I find myself in a slight tangent to the oft-discussed "best budget nearfield" discussion, so bear with me.

-The situation: I'm a hobbyist musician/engineer with a bedroom studio in Portland, OR. Work has unexpectedly required me to move to Peoria, IL, for one year. I'm setting up a "light" version of my studio, so I only brought the stuff I could ship. I left the uber-heavy HR24s back in PDX. I planned to spend $300-$400 on nearfields and sell em again at the end of the year.

I admit to being somewhat sold on the active monitor idea in the past. At that price, I've been considering the KRK rockit 6, the JBL LSR 2325, and the yamaha HS50m. People have shared opinions on these before, and I'm happy to hear more - but ultimately I would trust my ears to pick among them if I could get the chance to A/B them without the GC assclowns blasting nu-metal mp3s through them when I ask to compare them.

The twist is this: my mom asked me to help clear out a cabinet full of dormant AV gear so she could clean it up, and I discovered an Adcom GFA 535 in there. Really. I know people love this amp for driving passives, so I'm wondering if it would be more cost effective to just use this "gift" that fell in my lap and go passive for the year.

My main questions are:
1) Passive monitor recs under $400/pair (I know some folks like the axiom m2)
2) How much issue am I likely to encounter with noise in switching from a balanced XLR connection from interface to monitors, to a setup going interface to amp to passive monitors?

Okay, so it wasn't that short. Thanks in advance!

brew
pushin' record

Post by brew » Sun Jul 08, 2012 9:05 pm