trouble installing driver for M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8R

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
hugheju
pluggin' in mics
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:23 pm
Location: Atlanta
Contact:

trouble installing driver for M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8R

Post by hugheju » Mon Jul 23, 2012 12:14 am

This is always the biggest pain in the ass when my computer crashes and I have to reinstall XP. The official site seems to have only the driver for Windows XP SP3 now but I have SP2. The last time I had to was over a year ago and it was tricky then but I don't remember what I ended up doing. I think they might have discontinued support for this old service pack. The freshly installed Windows seems to have no audio devices at all, not even the one that is supposed to come with it.
Record it before you forget it. You can always record it better later.

hugheju
pluggin' in mics
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:23 pm
Location: Atlanta
Contact:

Post by hugheju » Mon Jul 23, 2012 1:32 am

Note that this is a Windows XP SP2 specific problem. I just installed it fine on my Windows 7 work computer I'm not supposed to use for this. :oops:
Record it before you forget it. You can always record it better later.

User avatar
Nick Sevilla
on a wing and a prayer
Posts: 5103
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:34 pm
Location: Lake Arrowhead California USA
Contact:

Post by Nick Sevilla » Mon Jul 23, 2012 6:30 pm

Well,

A little history might help you.

1.- AVID just sold off M-Audio.

Before AVID (then Digidesign) bought M-Audio, their audio drivers had issues.
During the tenure of Avid, their drivers had issues.
After the selloff, their drivers have issues.

Take a guess as to when the issues will be resolved.

My take on this is buy another brand of interface, one that is KNOWN to work with your Windows operating system.

And please, don't buy another M-Audio audio interface thinking that will solve the issue.
Howling at the neighbors. Hoping they have more mic cables.

hugheju
pluggin' in mics
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:23 pm
Location: Atlanta
Contact:

Post by hugheju » Mon Jul 23, 2012 9:08 pm

I cannot buy anything, gotta use what I have and get it to work, just like a Cuban mechanic. Now I am trying like hell or high water to get XP SP2 to upgrade to SP3 since there seems to be support for that. It works great on my work computer with Windows 7 but I am not supposed to use it for recording, and I can't afford to buy another computer right now. It was all running great on SP2 just a little over a week ago. I am sorry if my posts are confused and poorly written, I am just extremely annoyed at this ridiculous problem and am generally terrible with computers despite having a sort of IT job...
Record it before you forget it. You can always record it better later.

hugheju
pluggin' in mics
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:23 pm
Location: Atlanta
Contact:

Post by hugheju » Tue Jul 24, 2012 2:05 am

I managed to install XP SP3 and it all works fine! Apologies for my panicky wordery, and thanks for the moral support! :^:
Record it before you forget it. You can always record it better later.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 46 guests