Picking an ME, my learning curve

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

bannerj
re-cappin' neve

Picking an ME, my learning curve

Post by bannerj » Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:52 pm

I've just finished a project I've been tweaking on the side for some six years. It's a very personal record written with my wife and tracked with lots of friends. It could be considered a document of my learning curve in mixing during all these years. Even though its no mind blowing mix, I've enjoyed it thoroughly, am very pleased with it and want to continue my learning curve on with the mastering stage.

I've worked with a handful of mastering engineers but have always been rushed with deadlines to really slow down and learn and listen in a way that has ever made me feel really excited about the mastering. So this time I asked three different ME's to do the same song on spec.

We got these three versions back about two weeks ago. I listened to them every other day, sent them out to collaborators, had some other studio guys around here listen. There was no real strong consensus which was best. Each had their own good things going on. So when in doubt, I just decided to go with the ME who had done more records that I've bought and listened to and enjoy.

Funny thing is that after all this process, I guess I came off as high maintenance and the ME I picked asked to back out. It seemed to him that I had pretty high expectations. Yep! I sure do have high expectations when I'm spending almost $1k.