Tascam 38-New Owner

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Orpheus
ass engineer

Tascam 38-New Owner

Post by Orpheus » Sat Aug 11, 2012 12:32 am

Greetings Tape Op boards,

Longtime lurker here, I come before you to humbly request guidance and advice about my latest acquisition...a (what appears to be) perfectly working Tascam 38 unit. It came with the remote, pair of DBX units and about a dozen reels of Ampex 456 tape, as well as a few reels of 3M 232 tape.

Bear in mind guys, I am new to analog recording so the questions may seem inane. I apologize in advance.
Now my first question, which is probably most important is how much of the wealth of documentation you guys collated on the 388 relevant to the 38? I originally intended to purchase a 388 thanks to the love shown for it, but this was the only unit available. As well, the price was too good to ignore. Is it worthy of similar affections?

Are there any popular mods?
How do I bounce tracks?
Is there a consensus on what the "best" new tape is?
Are there any parts I should order that are likely to fail in anticipation of future scarcity? Or just so I get back to the session as quickly as possible.

That's all I can think of for now, thanks guys.

Jim Williams
tinnitus

Post by Jim Williams » Sat Aug 11, 2012 8:16 am

The best mods are opamp replacement and transformer removal. I use LME49720 opamps, very quiet and clear. You may need to add a pair of .1 uf caps from the power rails to ground.

Next, yank out the tape head step-up transformer. Bridge the pads across with a wire. Change the 330 ohm resistor off the - input of the opamp to 91 ohms. Done.
Jim Williams
Audio Upgrades

markjazzbassist
tinnitus

Post by markjazzbassist » Sat Aug 11, 2012 9:31 am