Troubleshooting a Wurlitzer 200a

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
User avatar
clean_and_humble
takin' a dinner break
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:02 pm
Location: Brooklyn NY
Contact:

Troubleshooting a Wurlitzer 200a

Post by clean_and_humble » Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:21 am

Hey
I have a Wurlitzer 200a that has a problem I am trying to pin point. The unit seems to just shut off and lose power. It does not happen all the time but if left on not even playing the unit for 20minutes or more the unit just shuts off.

Anyone know what the problem could be ?

hogfish
steve albini likes it
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 9:26 am

Post by hogfish » Fri Dec 28, 2012 10:01 am

Check the fuses on the Amplifer PCB. The solder connections could be flaky.......

User avatar
clean_and_humble
takin' a dinner break
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:02 pm
Location: Brooklyn NY
Contact:

Post by clean_and_humble » Fri Dec 28, 2012 9:17 pm

Thanks man
will do
would you have or know of a picture reference of that online ?
I also was thinking of ordering a new power plug thinking maybe
it could be that but does seem to be something loose
There was a wire that I was fiddling with that seemed like a ground
that was up near the left speaker that just seemed to be a bare silver wire
screwed down ?

Thanks for the help

User avatar
clean_and_humble
takin' a dinner break
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:02 pm
Location: Brooklyn NY
Contact:

Post by clean_and_humble » Fri Dec 28, 2012 9:22 pm

Nevermind found one
http://www.natedort.com/archives/152

posting it for anyone with a similar problem who might happen upon this post
Will keep you posted on the progress of the repair

hogfish
steve albini likes it
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 9:26 am

Post by hogfish » Sat Dec 29, 2012 7:38 am

Those pics are not of a 200a. They are for the 200, which does not have the fuses located on the PCB. I have a late model (1980) 200a, it has 2 fuses located on the amp PCB. I modified it with a kit sold by Vintage Vibe, puts the fuses in plastic quick release capsules. Very handy. No more having to desolder blown fuses......

User avatar
clean_and_humble
takin' a dinner break
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:02 pm
Location: Brooklyn NY
Contact:

Post by clean_and_humble » Sat Dec 29, 2012 10:41 am

Hmm might be making a vintage vibe order in 2013
need the wurlly in full studio working order

User avatar
Marc Alan Goodman
george martin
Posts: 1400
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 7:57 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Post by Marc Alan Goodman » Thu Jan 17, 2013 4:10 pm

It does sound like a bad solder joint somewhere. When the board heats up to a certain temperature the connection is getting pulled apart just enough to lose power.

How comfortable are you with electronics? Can you wait for it to die, and then follow the power line to wherever it's stopping? It should be a pretty quick find, but if you're not comfortable with it any tech should be able to handle it for you. Worst case it will be a component that needs replacing, not the whole board.

themagicmanmdt
george martin
Posts: 1347
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 8:47 pm
Location: home on the range

Post by themagicmanmdt » Fri Feb 08, 2013 8:03 pm

you should also contact my friend max brink @ chicago electric piano company - he's great at all this stuff. knows his stuff. just did one for the wilco loft. if that means much?
we are the village green
preservation society
god bless +6 tape
valves and serviceability

*chief tech and R&D shaman at shadow hills industries*

User avatar
Darlington Pair
takin' a dinner break
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 12:27 pm
Location: Staunton, VA
Contact:

Post by Darlington Pair » Mon Feb 11, 2013 10:56 am

Marc Alan Goodman wrote:It does sound like a bad solder joint somewhere. When the board heats up to a certain temperature the connection is getting pulled apart just enough to lose power.

How comfortable are you with electronics? Can you wait for it to die, and then follow the power line to wherever it's stopping? It should be a pretty quick find, but if you're not comfortable with it any tech should be able to handle it for you. Worst case it will be a component that needs replacing, not the whole board.
This would be my guess, or possibly a failing cap.

UnlikeKurt
pushin' record
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 3:39 pm
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Post by UnlikeKurt » Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:20 pm

is there a common scenario in which the piano stops producing sound?
When it happens does the power actually cut-off to the board?
Does the light go out?
Do any fuses blow?
Is your reedbar clean? dust?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 44 guests