I'm new to computer recording.. is this what I need?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

sears
steve albini likes it

I'm new to computer recording.. is this what I need?

Post by sears » Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:25 pm

I've done a lot of research and I guess I'm looking for any holes in my plan.

I record myself. I've used an Akai DPS16, an all-in-one box, for the last seven years or so. Before that, cassette. I've been doing it since 1996 or so.

I've never used a computer based DAW. I'd like to have something that's similarly easy to use as what I have, but with better mixing and editing capabilities. Better sound would be ok. One DAW program seems as good as another to me. I'm down with a learning curve.

This is what's in my rack.

2 x Speck ASC-T
Hamptone JFET dual channel
Overstayer FET
RNC
RNLA

I'm currently taking apart an old Sony board and following some directions to mod it for direct outs. If it works, I'll have eight extra preamps/eq to wire into the patchbay. I won't buy an interface until the results are clear.

I'm thinking of getting:

Mac Mini Server
Echo Audiofire 12
Behringer BCF2000
Reaper

If my Sony experiment fails then maybe I'll get the Steinberg 816 with its preamps.

My concerns are:

1. Do people really use Reaper with Macs? It seems to be more of a PC thing. The Reaper OSX forum isn't too busy.. but maybe it works so smoothly nobody has any issues?
2. The Mac Mini Server comes with two 5400 RPM hard drives. Should I be able to devote one of those to audio with Reaper? Is it too slow? If I go to 16GB RAM would it be less of a problem?
3. My home computer is a PC. Would I need to hook this Mac up to the internet to get Reaper into it?

Does this sound like a decent plan? What can I share that would help you help me?

kslight
mixes from purgatory

Post by kslight » Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:24 pm