Gain staging and live sound

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

GlowSounds
alignin' 24-trk

Gain staging and live sound

Post by GlowSounds » Sat Mar 09, 2013 6:55 am

Here's the abstract of my rambling below: I feel like I have a good handle on issues of audio, most gear, gain staging... But sometimes I feel very deficient when it comes to live sound. Are there some fundamental differences (especially regarding gain staging) between studio and stage?

So... my question for any sound guys or anyone with more experience than myself on this:
I'm a drummer and have remained blissfully ignorant about the fine points of live sound (sit down, hit the drum as asked during soundcheck...) But I started playing in a project where I'm playing drum pads, triggering backing tracks and playing a little synth.

After this group's first show the other night I had the chance to chat with the sound guy for awhile. He could tell I was out of my comfort zone and kindly gave me some advice about my set-up.

His main beef, which we tangled over a little during the hurried (surprise!) sound check was that all my stuff was too hot. He wanted much weaker levels so he could add the gain. And ya, overall my samples and output levels are strong, but not crazy hot: master output on sampler/synth at around 90%; drum samples/backing tracks averaging around -6/-9dB, never peaking over -3dB. I'm going on the gain staging principle of add the gain early, attenuate later as needed. But from this sound person I'm getting the message: weaker signals are better, let the FOH add the gain.

I know I can just adjust the master outs on my samplers but just wanted to get to the bottom of the basic concept here- I know the TOMB community can get me there!

Thanks for your input!

Gregg Juke
cryogenically thawing

Post by Gregg Juke » Sat Mar 09, 2013 9:19 am