analouge recording question

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

grouper
pluggin' in mics

analouge recording question

Post by grouper » Mon Mar 25, 2013 9:37 am

hello people.

i'm new to recording. in fact i'm a total noob. all i know is that as long as i record only vocals and folk guitar i'd hate it to be digital.

because it's very hard for me to put my hands on a 4 track cassette where i live, i was thinking about taking an ordinary tape recorder and plug it into a shitty lexicon lambada sound card that i own that would plug into my computer.

my question is, based on your experience, would the tape recording sound will go through the digital proccess in its sound and do you think that the outcome would be listenable? (lo-fi but listenable enough to market)

thank you very much guys!

dfuruta
re-cappin' neve

Post by dfuruta » Mon Mar 25, 2013 12:54 pm

there's nothing wrong with digital.

MoreSpaceEcho
zen recordist

Post by MoreSpaceEcho » Mon Mar 25, 2013 1:24 pm

yeah. digital is not the enemy. it's fine.

by 'ordinary tape recorder' you mean a 2 track cassette deck, right? there's nothing wrong with running through that on the way to the computer, but realize that the cassette deck is going to effect (affect?) your sound way more than the computer will. like, orders of magnitude more. and probably not for the better.

if it were me, i wouldn't bother with the cassette deck, but don't let me stop you. try it out and see.

grouper
pluggin' in mics

Post by grouper » Mon Mar 25, 2013 1:31 pm