Help converting GarageBand MIDI file to ProTools via Logic

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
Ron Obvious
alignin' 24-trk
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 8:11 pm
Location: Fanny Bay-Vancouver Island, Canada
Contact:

Help converting GarageBand MIDI file to ProTools via Logic

Post by Ron Obvious » Sat Jul 13, 2013 8:59 pm

Hello

I have a MIDI piano file of a live performance I recorded with GarageBand. I need to move this over to a ProTools 10 session and fix some of the bad notes and do a final mix. There is only one REAL way to do this. Open the Garageband session in Logic (which I don't have). Then you can export this "new" MIDI file. This will then import to PT's properly.

So is there anyone out there that could help me with this. Song (solo piano) is about 6 minutes long. GarageBand file is 1 meg. I could email this to you.

My email is: dragonflymobile@gmail.com

Thanks in advance.
Ron O. Vermeulen

User avatar
Nick Sevilla
on a wing and a prayer
Posts: 5219
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:34 pm
Location: Lake Arrowhead California USA
Contact:

Post by Nick Sevilla » Sun Jul 14, 2013 9:18 pm

email sent...
Howling at the neighbors. Hoping they have more mic cables.

Ron Obvious
alignin' 24-trk
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 8:11 pm
Location: Fanny Bay-Vancouver Island, Canada
Contact:

Post by Ron Obvious » Mon Jul 15, 2013 4:46 pm

Hello Nick,

A very big thanks for the GarageBand to Logic, MIDI export. It has worked perfectly in my ProTools 10 session. Mixdown finished.

I owe you one!

Good day
Ron 'Obvious' Vermeulen
Dragonfly Mobile Recording.

User avatar
Brett Siler
moves faders with mind
Posts: 2518
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2003 12:16 pm
Location: Evansville, IN
Contact:

Post by Brett Siler » Mon Jul 15, 2013 6:57 pm

I love happy endings :D

User avatar
Nick Sevilla
on a wing and a prayer
Posts: 5219
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:34 pm
Location: Lake Arrowhead California USA
Contact:

Post by Nick Sevilla » Mon Jul 15, 2013 7:27 pm

No problem.

That is why I keep Logic around, basically... that and the FX.
Howling at the neighbors. Hoping they have more mic cables.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 89 guests