Little Labs STD cable question

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

gjjr13
audio school
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 4:37 pm
Location: Austin
Contact:

Little Labs STD cable question

Post by gjjr13 » Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:11 am

Does anyone have a little labs STD cable that they can take a few photos of internally? Mine is broken and I want to fix it myself since Little Labs told me they will not repair it, but will sell me a new one.
Thanks

Jim Williams
tinnitus
Posts: 1135
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 8:19 am
Location: beautiful Carlsbad, CA
Contact:

Post by Jim Williams » Tue Oct 22, 2013 9:12 am

What is a STD? Sexually transmitted disease?
Jim Williams
Audio Upgrades

gjjr13
audio school
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 4:37 pm
Location: Austin
Contact:

Post by gjjr13 » Tue Oct 22, 2013 2:35 pm


kslight
moves faders with mind
Posts: 2579
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:40 pm

Post by kslight » Tue Oct 22, 2013 3:05 pm

Being the bearer of a broken "STD cable", wouldn't it make sense for you to open it yourself?

It just looks like a basic XLR-TS cord?

gjjr13
audio school
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 4:37 pm
Location: Austin
Contact:

Post by gjjr13 » Tue Oct 22, 2013 4:10 pm

I did open mine. I am asking for photos of a working one to compare where the loose wire in mine is supposed to be connected . The photos of yours will help me re-solder mine to match a working unit.

kslight
moves faders with mind
Posts: 2579
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:40 pm

Post by kslight » Tue Oct 22, 2013 4:37 pm


gjjr13
audio school
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 4:37 pm
Location: Austin
Contact:

Post by gjjr13 » Tue Oct 22, 2013 11:54 pm

Well I figured it out after staring at the circuit for a while. I was able to solder it back together correctly. The STD worked like a charm for my session tonight. Let me know if anyone else has this problem. I saved myself $50 and would be happy to help you as well.
Regarding responses, there is a circuit board inside the cable on the TS side, so it is not a matter of knowing how to wire a TS to an XLR.
Check this product out, it is really great when it is not broken.

chris harris
speech impediment
Posts: 4270
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2003 5:31 pm
Location: Norman, OK
Contact:

Post by chris harris » Wed Oct 23, 2013 8:44 am

Yeah, part of the buffer circuit resides inside the 1/4" jack housing. If I had seen this sooner, I could have sent a photo. Glad you got it worked out.

ashcat_lt
tinnitus
Posts: 1079
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 1:54 pm
Location: Duluth, MN
Contact:

Post by ashcat_lt » Wed Oct 23, 2013 1:51 pm

So what is the pinout there? One of the XLR pins must have a DC voltage on it, no? What is that voltage and which pin is it? If it happens to have 9V there, one could probably work it out for use as phantom power for active instruments like acoustic-electrics or active basses. Not that anybody probably cares, or will bother, but I've been against batteries inside instruments for years.

User avatar
Marc Alan Goodman
george martin
Posts: 1400
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 7:57 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Post by Marc Alan Goodman » Sun Nov 03, 2013 3:02 pm

I've always been curious about this thing too. Anybody dissect theirs?

Recording Engineer
steve albini likes it
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon May 12, 2003 3:09 am
Location: Sacramento, CA
Contact:

Post by Recording Engineer » Tue Nov 05, 2013 2:47 pm

I have one and in my current studio over the last 4.5 years, 8/10 times I get RFI with Radio Disney coming out of the guitar amp speaker cab... I don't have RFI problems with ANYTHING ELSE! I need to get more (3-5 more would be nice) STDs or the Radial version pretty quickly, but I'm a little scared!

User avatar
Marc Alan Goodman
george martin
Posts: 1400
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 7:57 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Post by Marc Alan Goodman » Tue Nov 05, 2013 5:20 pm

The Radial version is significantly different, so it's certainly worth a shot. I'd try one first and see how it goes.

We have some weird RF issues (always that damn Radio Disney), mostly with our Oktava 012's which are no longer even slightly useable, but no issues reamping.

User avatar
Mixwell
pluggin' in mics
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 10:42 am
Location: Quincy, MA
Contact:

Post by Mixwell » Wed Nov 06, 2013 6:52 am

I've seen a few blow up,
I always just buy another one from Jon,

I'm lazy.......
Adam J. Brass
www.DSPdoctor.com
Pro Audio Dealer
adam@dspdoctor.com
(1) 866 988 9111

"Where High End is Still King"
________________

grabacionesdecampo
audio school
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 3:13 pm

Post by grabacionesdecampo » Wed Mar 09, 2016 1:27 am

My STD cable broke the other day!
Both cables got completely loose from the little circuit board inside the TS jack.
I would like to solder it, but i have no idea where they should go.
If somebody has a STD and can post a picture or diagram would be very helpfull.

Jim Williams
tinnitus
Posts: 1135
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 8:19 am
Location: beautiful Carlsbad, CA
Contact:

Post by Jim Williams » Wed Mar 09, 2016 8:41 am

Recording Engineer wrote:I have one and in my current studio over the last 4.5 years, 8/10 times I get RFI with Radio Disney coming out of the guitar amp speaker cab... I don't have RFI problems with ANYTHING ELSE! I need to get more (3-5 more would be nice) STDs or the Radial version pretty quickly, but I'm a little scared!
Open it up and install some ferrite beads in series with the inputs and outputs. P/N # 623-274300211LF
www.mouser.com
You can also get some of those snap-on ferrite beads that can be used over the ends of that cable if it's the source.

I've been able to slay rf here rather well with that stuff. The only place that beat me was a friends house in LA right across the street from a 50,000 watt AM radio station. There even my fillings picked up the radio.
Jim Williams
Audio Upgrades

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests