What do I gain with a reamping device?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Shellacattack
alignin' 24-trk

What do I gain with a reamping device?

Post by Shellacattack » Tue Jan 28, 2014 12:05 pm

My current way of reamping myself is to use a Boss DD6 to split my signal, one portion of the signal goes to an amp (just to hear myself) and the other portion goes into the DI of my Sebatron pre, then into PT. Once the track is recorded, I send the DI'd track to one of the outputs of my Delta 1010 and into a guitar pedal, then into my amp for retracking/reamping.

I've never used an actual reamp box before, but based solely on what I've reamped using the method above, it doesn't seem like I'm missing much. The reamped signal seems pretty true to the original source, but I do wonder if perhaps I'm limiting the fidelity of the signal by using this method.

Can anyone comment on if they've found certain reamp boxes that significantly improve the quality of their reamped signal?

Thanks!
"Took my money, I couldn't buy nothin. I'm sick of this brave new world."

vvv
zen recordist

Post by vvv » Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:09 pm

Strikes me that if the way you are doing it sounds like you are playing it, the pedal is helping and you are aiight.

That said, there's a thread here ...
bandcamp;
blog.
I mix with olive juice.

ashcat_lt
tinnitus

Post by ashcat_lt » Fri Jan 31, 2014 9:12 pm

vvv wrote:Strikes me that if the way you are doing it sounds like you are playing it, the pedal is helping and you are aiight.

That said, there's a thread here ...